When I tell people that I have started packing for my trip they usually laugh a little and respond with some variation of ” Why are you packing so early?”. After spending a few hours this morning going through my closet and laying aside the things that I know I want to take but will not be wearing this summer, I am so glad that I am getting this head start. To all of the people who have asked me the above question, do you have any idea what it’s like to try and pack for a whole year away from home? I am learning that it’s some what stressful actually and I’m finding it quite difficult to pick and choose what to take. I know that I will be grateful  that I am not packing the last few days before I leave because I imagine I will want to spend that time with family and friends, not running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off, trying to fit everything into my suitcase. I have also started a list of all the things I intend to pack so I can check them off one by one as I pack them. Keep in mind that this is only a partial list so it’s bound to grow a lot bigger. However, I am done packing for the day. My brain can only process so much of one thing before I become restless and need to start a new activity.

