As yesterday marked one month exactly til’ the date of my departure, I started noticing the things in my everyday life that are so simple but I are some of the things that I feel I will miss most. Here are just a few:

– My Comforter: I LOVE my comforter. I love snuggling into it at the end of the day and wrapping it around me, even in the summer months when it is way to hot for it. You might be thinking that I can do that with any comforter but mine is so fluffy and soft that I don’t think any old comforter could even come close.

– My room: If you are like me, your room is like a safe haven from the rest of the world. Sometimes I can hide out in it for hours where I read or listen to whatever music I choose without interruption. Also, if you are like me you sometimes leave a trail when changing from day clothing to pjs at night. A room is a place that can be totally your own if you make it that way.

– My bathroom: I admit, I have been a bit spoiled because I have hardly ever had to share a bathroom for an extended period of time. I have come to realize that having my own bathroom is a small miracle , especially since I am a girl. I don’t have to worry about if I am taking all the hot water or if someone else needs to shower. And who knows what type of bathroom arrangements my host family will have?

-The furniture on my front porch: This sounds silly but I really really enjoy reading on my front porch. It is so nice to be outside in the sun and the warm breeze but the bushes also make it a private spot to just doze off for a nap.

-The Stereo: I love music so naturally I have a stereo in my bathroom that I play whenever I am in there. I find if very difficult to shower without music because I sing in the shower on a regular basis (it helps to wake me up in the morning)

– I think one of the hardest things for me to give up will be my car. I have had my license for about a year and a half now and I must say it’s one of the best things that could happen to a teenager. Being able to go where I want to when I want to and not having to rely on someone else to get me there is an amazing freedom. I often take having a car for granted but now that I think about it, it’s going to be a big adjustment to have to ask for rides again. I think I’ll be appreciating my car the next few weeks.

Anyway, that’s just a few things I think I’ll be missing. After I arrive in France and have lived there for a few months, maybe I will do a follow-up post to see if I was correct about these things.

I’m sorry for the lack of pictures in this post. I promise to have some good ones for the next one 🙂

❤ Em

