I am really not sure where the month of July went. It seems that only yesterday I was celebrating the fourth of July and enjoying the fireworks. Now it is August first and as hard as I am trying not to count the days I am really failing. Only three weeks and one day until I leave and I am wondering how I am going to get everything done that needs to be done before I go. My mom and I have been making lists of things to do. Yesterday we were able to cross many things off after we hit up Best Buy, Target, the Nittany Mall and Barnes and Nobel. I got my much-needed adaptor and a few other accessories that seem necessary like a planner and a journal. I am determined to keep a journal  while I am away. I think it will be a great place to store memories, feelings and thoughts so that I can look back on them in 10, 20 or 50 years.

Some of you may or may not know that one of the required accessories for being a Rotary Exchange Student is the blazer. All students are required to wear a blazer with a sewn on patch that says “Rotary Youth Exchange” while traveling. During the year, students fill the blazers up with pins that they collect from other exchange students, the people they meet and  random experiences throughout the year.  It is also a requirement for students to bring pins that represent their home to give to others. I have placed all of my pins in one bag which weighs in at  3.4 pounds (that’s a lot of pins!). I will have to find a safe spot for them in my suit case.

 

