Today is officially the first day since my departure that I miss home. Admittedly, it is caused distinctly by the lack of Penn State Football in France. Yes that is exactly what is causing me to miss home today. I have yet to find someone here who appreciates (American) Football.

Today I will not hear a single “We Are… Penn State!!” chant or get the chance to feel Beaver Stadium jump under my feet  during the zombie song. Football weekends in Happy Valley have a certain contagious electricity about them as thousands of people, wired with energy and excitement, descend on the town. I didn’t include football on the list of things I thought I would miss and yet it is the first thing I do miss. Of course it all goes back to the clichéd saying “you never know what you have until you lose it”. I must admit that after living in State College for 18 years I have become so used to weekends like this one that I hardly even notice how magical they are. Maybe it seems extreme to be writing about a simple football game like this, but if you come from a football family like me you understand that football isn’t just a game, it is a way of life.

So here is to all you Penn State fans out there. Enjoy today and the game. Cheer a little louder and know that if I had some sort of teleportation device I would be there today to cheer along with you.

LET’S GO STATE!!!!!

Photo curtesy of my Dad, Chris Fivek.

For anyone looking at this and doesn’t know what this picture is all about:

In the front of the picture we have he Nittany Lion who is the mascot of Penn State University. In the background we have cheerleaders (pom pom girls), some of the Blue Band and behind them the students of the university.

This weekend I am not only missing out on a very crucial football game but an important date in U.S. history. Tomorrow, as I am sure you all know, marks the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Center. I was only 8 years old when The U.S. was attacked and I can say that I remember the day fairly clearly. I remember going home and ridding my bike to all my friend’s houses in the neighborhood and asking if they had seen or heard what happened. At that moment I was too young and naive to truly understand the implications that day would have for my country. Ten years later, although I understand a bit more, I still think I am too young and naive to truly understand. I feel lucky to be able to say that in the short years of my life before the towers were hit I had the chance to walk inside them.

Although I have left the U.S behind for a year and am interested in seeing the rest of the world, I can honestly say that I am proud to be American. My thoughts and prayers are with all of the people who lost a loved one ten years ago tomorrow.

Have a fantastic week everyone!

-Emma

