I Love Exchange Students <3

It’s true. I just absolutely love exchange students.

Last weekend was the 2011 District Conference of district 1510 (my host district).

On Saturday I spent the day at the conference center with the 38 other exchange students. It was really great to get to talk with the people who understand better than anyone else what it is like to be an exchange student. Although it was only my second time meeting with all of them I felt like I was hanging out with people that I had known for quite some time. We spent most of the day talking and exchanging stories. One of the best things about exchange students is that for the most part, everyone is very friendly and very outgoing and there is never a dull or silent moment (except when we are “sleeping” of course)

Saturday night we headed over to Camping L’Eden where we “camped”. (aka we stayed in little mobile homes). In the “bungalow” there were three other girls and myself. The bungalows were pretty nice with the exception that ours  had no toilette paper and so we used a mini pack of tissues. Saturday night we had a crêpe party. There was an appetizer: crêpe with butter, the main dish : crêpe with egg and ham and dessert: crêpe with chocolate or caramel. I had the chocolate one of course 🙂

Needless to say we stayed up pretty late as we had quite a bit to talk about. It was like a sleep over and we had a really good time. At one point I was SO thirsty for water and I didn’t notice that there were cups, so out of desperation I filled the coffee pot and drank out of it only to realize the next morning at breakfast that there were plenty of cups in the cabinet. But anyway back to the point.

Sunday we had a luncheon with the Rotex, which is a group of students who have returned from their exchange. It was interesting to talk with them and hear their stories.

The highlight of the weekend was the water slides at the camping site. Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures because I was too busy splashing around but we had so much fun! It took me a few tries before I was able to make it to the end of the slide without getting stuck but I finally succeeded and was able to slide down a toute vitesse (at top speed).

Before heading home on Sunday I was lucky enough to make a pit stop at the beach at La Baule, which is supposedly the most beautiful beaches in Europe. It was very beautiful and I am sad I didn’t get a chance to go swimming there but I am hoping that at some point this year I will get the chance to go back and really see the town and spend some time on the beach.

One last thing before the pictures. Something I discovered this weekend is that I really miss giving and receiving hugs. On Sunday I got my first real hug in about a month and it was WONDERFUL. I mean don’t get me wrong, I am a big fan of the french greeting style and I am hoping that some of my fellow Americans will humor me when I get home by doing it. However, it is true that it doesn’t replace getting a really good hug.

OKay enough of me blabing on and on.

Enjoy 🙂

Here we have my roommates 🙂   ^ Emma de Finland,Emma de States,Ellis de South Carolina and Bunga d’Indonesia .

Leave a Reply

