Well, another incredible rotary weekend has come and gone. I am even more exhausted than last week, but hey, I’m not hear to rest.

Saturday morning I woke up at 5 am and then caught my train from Saumur at 6:45

I have decided that I actually like traveling by train although I can’t say it was a completely normal experience. Since it was early there were not many people on board so I sat myself down and propped my feet up on the seat in front of me. Then the train attendent came over and said something to me that I didn’t understand but I thought he wanted me to move my back pack from the seat in front of me. So I did and in the process I put my feet on the ground. After the guy left I put my feet right back on the seat. Then about 10 minutes later he saw me and gave me a funny look. He walked over to me and said in a not quite friendly voice “This is the second time miss. I asked you not to put your feet on the seat.” WHOOPSIES! (I am a little rusty on train etiquette) Anyway, I immediately put my feet down and and excused myself while explaining that I didn’t understand correctly the first time. So lesson number one: The seats do not double as foot rests… Good to know for future reference.

The second strange thing that occurred was that when I got off the train, I looked to my right and there was my Italien teacher. I must say in was a little weird seeing him at 7:15 a.m. on a Saturday morning considering teachers are supposed to live at school and all 😉

Fast forward to Saturday afternoon:

District 1510 met up with 7 other districts from around the area which made us about 150 exchange students in total with a really large population of Americans. After a packed lunch at the camping site we hopped back on the bus and headed to the beautiful Mont Saint Michel.

On Saturday we didn’t actually go inside but we spent two hours walking across the bay with bare feet. It was AMAZING. And to top it all off we had fantastic weather.

Our Lovely Guide

The Crew 🙂Saturday night we had a LONG dinner. It started at 8 p.m. with a group of traditional dancers as our entertainment. It was pretty amusing because they got most of the students out of their seats and dancing. Our excitement began to wind down around 9:30 because we were all SO hungry and impatient for our food to come (which it did… eventually). After dinner at about 10:30 or so groups of students went up and sang their national anthem. I must say it was pretty awesome to hear all the different ones in the different languages. Some students had to sing all alone because they were the only ones from their country in the group. However, as I mentioned earlier, there were ALOT of Americans there, and we sang pretty loud 🙂

And finally, after all the national anthems were sung, we got to dance!

Let me tell you that 150 Rotary exchange students+ great music+ tiny dance floor= SO MUCH FUN! Despite being exhausted, everyone was out of the floor getting their moves on and singing as loud as possible. I must say that it was one of the best parts of the weekend.

See if you can find me 🙂 

At about 2 a.m. the music shut off and we were all sent to our cabins to get some sleep.

Okay I don’t have time to post pictures or write about Sunday because I am heading off yet again for another weekend. So hopefully tomorrow I will have some time and I can post the other half 🙂

Have a fantastic weekend!

Love,

Em

