Two weekends ago we piled into the car and drove to a small town called Cancale  in Bretagne. We arrived Saturday evening and went to a Japanese restaurant for dinner. I had no idea what I was eating but think it is safe to say that it was a lot of fish and seafood. Despite my dislike for seafood I tasted almost every dish that was set in front of me. Luckily before dinner Louis, Marie and I wen’t to get an appetizer because we were hungry. What a good idea that turned out to be.

Sunday we spent the day getting a private cooking lesson! And lucky for me, what was on the menu but shrimp and lobster. ( I should probably mention that Cancale is right on the seaside.)

We started with live lobsters (sorry the image is sideways, it doesn’t want to cooperate).

And after they were cooked we took them apart.

And then we moved on the removing the eyes from the shrimp 🙂

Finally after that hard work we got to eat! Believe it or not I ate all the shrimp.

Although I can’t say the same for the lobster but I did take a few bites.

 

Anyway I am glad I saved room because after the entrée and the plat (main dish) it was time for double desert.

 And finally the star of the show, fried Nutella.

 

Overall I must say I learned a lot and I tasted many new things. The best part: I got to keep the recipe for the fried Nutella… I will most definitely be making that again.

 

