I am getting really bad with this whole blog thing and I am sorry. I am really going to try to make an effort to blog about once a week but it might be a little difficult because my camera is not working at the moment so I won’t be taking new pictures for a while.

That said, I just have a few things to update you on.

After Christmas I had a second week of break which was pretty great although I spent most of the time working on the T.P.E. which is a big group project that I have been working on since the beginning of the year and will be wrapping up in the next few weeks (yay!)

I did take a time out from my work though and I took the train to Nantes to spend the day with Ellis and Emma, who, if you don’t remember from previous posts, are two of my good friends from Rotary. We went shopping, walked around and explored the down town area (Ellis was our guide because she lives there) all the while laughing and enjoying each other’s company. For lunch we ate at an Italian restaurant because we were all in the mood for pizza (I’m almost always in the mood for pizza) and we were all hungry which was good because when you order pizza in France you don’t just get a slice… you get a whole pizza to yourself which is probably between 6 and 8 inches in diameter. I had a vegetarian pizza and I ate the whole thing because it was  truly delectable (this could be the culprit behind my ever chubbier cheeks and my double chin :p well that and all the cheese and bread… that’s for sure ) .

Anyway, after lunch we continued our shopping spree. We spoke English the whole day and as much as I don’t like speaking English right now, it was a day of relaxation for my brain.

Around 5 p.m. we walked back to the train station because Emma had to leave at a little after 5. After her train, Ellis and I went for a walk because my train wasn’t until 7:39 p.m., That’s what I thought anyway. Around 7 I went to check to board to make sure my train was on time. I didn’t see it on the board so I took my ticket out to look at it and saw that my train had left 20 minutes before. WHOOPSIES. I’m still not sure how I got the times mixed up. Anyway, I went to the ticket stand but there wasn’t another train to take me to Saumur that evening so Ellis’ host family kindly let me spend the night with them and I took the train home the next morning.

It’s funny because I already know I am going to miss having the train when I get home. I love it. It’s so practical for traveling and a trip that normally takes about two hours by car (like going to Nantes from Saumur) only takes an hour by train. I thought I would miss having the independence that comes with having a car but I really don’t miss it at all. That’s not to say that I won’t be happy to have my car back when I get home but  I am falling in love with public transportation. I think it is also because most of the things I do are within a five or ten minute walk from where I live and so I really don’t need a car to get around or be independent.

Anyway, that’s it for now. I should be getting to bed.

Have a great week!

-Em

