Tonight I am feeling stressed. My host mom and I had a long conversation about traveling and the places her and my host dad have visited (Egypt, Greece, Italy, China, Indonesia, Israel, and Morocco to name a few) and I am feeling stressed because there are so many places that I want to discover and so little time to do it all. When people ask me what I want to do with my life, I generally answer that at this point I am really not sure but something I do know is that I want to travel. I want to see the world and discover other cultures and ways of life. The thing that is frustrating is that discovering another country takes time. Already I feel that 10 months wont be enough and so I know that spending only a few weeks in a country wont nearly be enough. What I would really love to do is take the next 10 years of my life and live in 5 different countries (10 seems a little too ambitious). I’m not sure which 5 I would chose… I have to give it some thought. However, before I travel the world I have decided that I want to dedicate some time to discovering my own country. It’s so big that I barely know it all (the furthest west I have been is Ohio) and I think it is really important to know ones own country.

 

Image

-Saint Augustine

 

Anyway, tomorrow I am changing to my second family. My big suitcase is packed but honestly I have NO IDEA how I am going to manage to get home because I really have too much stuff and I am only 4 1/2 months in. Back on topic. I’m having mixed feelings about changing.  I think the three family system is a fairly good one because that way I will have a chance to see three different ways of family life (we can’t assume that all French families are the same) and I will get to know more people and learn more things about the culture. However it is true that it is sad to change.  I am so comfortable in my current family and I have adapted to their “rhythm” and well, now it’s time to change. It’s a strange feeling to know that tomorrow at this time I will be in a new bed, in a new room, in a new house, with a new family. 

 

